STONE TAVERN FARM...THE BEST DESTINATION WEDDING LOCATION
Your Subtitle text

Reviews





5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  •  
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  •  
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  •  
  • Value: 5.0
  •  
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Faryal said... 
I cannot say enough positive things about this venue and the entire Stone Tavern Farm. Finding a venue that could accommodate our 2 day Pakistani/Jamaican fusion wedding extravaganza was not easy! When we found STF and visited the farm, we knew it was it. From my groom coming in on a white horse (traditional South Asian entrance), to the party going until the wee hours of the morning, to having fireworks and a whiskey/cigar bar, to the gorgeous backdrop and scenery - it really could not have been more perfect. If you are looking for a very unique venue that has a ton of flexibility that people will remember forever, and that will be more like a family and friends reunion rather than like every other wedding and venue - Stone Tavern is your place! Please note that while you get the venue for the entire week/weekend and price is very fair, you have to cover everything else besides the space yourself - including caterers, florists, all design/decor items including linens, plates, glasses, musicians/DJ, etc. So this is a very DIY venue, just make sure you bake that into your budget!

Wedding: 11/03/2017















Christina said... 
My husband and I wanted a venue that was different from all of the cookie cutter weddings we have attended. Our wedding at Stone Tavern was perfect. We were able to have our dream weekend wedding. The staff is very helpful and will do anything to help your dreams come true. John really does want you to have the best wedding! 

Wedding: 10/07/2017



From the beginning, my fiance and I knew we were in the best of hands with John at Stone Tavern Farm. His experience, flexibility, and the quality he offered made our wedding weekend exactly the vision we had. The venue itself is stunning - our guests kept exclaiming about how gorgeous the land and grounds are, and were awed by the barn and vistas over the pond. My fiance and I both found Stone Tavern Farm separately on Google and we each messaged the other to tell the other about it; we knew immediately that it was the venue of our dreams. It is one of the few venues that can accommodate 200+ guests, and it is the best price you can get for the complete package: REAL bathrooms (a true rarity in upstate NY), gorgeous banquet tables and chairs, endless parking and staff with golf carts to assist our guests, an absolutely stunning barn that stands on its own - you may not want to add any decorations, as it becomes a wonderland of lights at night - and amazing flexibility about dates and time, which allowed us to spend the week before the wedding building the mandap (ceremonial stage) and decorating together as a family. We dances into the wee hours of the morning, with no time or sound restrictions. Believe me when I say it's not easy to find a place that includes so much in its package, and ends up costing less than a more bare-bones venue where you have to rent the bathroom trailers/tables/chairs/etc. Basically, the value of FREEDOM and FLEXIBILITY to create a wedding that matches you and your family is exactly what Stone Tavern and John provide. We loved working with John - he was always available to take our calls and had a plan for every element of the wedding. He loves weddings and has handled so many different kinds over the years, he gave us peace of mind that no matter what unforeseen element appeared, he would handle it. When many of the houses we had originally rented became unavailable, he found solutions too. We'd hire him again in a heartbeat.

Profile Picture Alyra,  7/30/17, 5 Reviews



Feb 4, 2017Reviewed by sarahedwards87
I had an awesome experience at the farm when my best friend got married. We stay at the dingle cabin and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The atmosphere was unexplainable as we partied the night away till 3 in the morning



Stone Tavern Farm was the perfect place to get married in the Catskills. My wife and I wanted several things:

-a large space that would hold 250 or more people
-a place with no curfew
-a place that allowed camping
-a place that had a beautiful site for an outdoor ceremony
-a place that gave us their space for the whole weekend so we could have our friday night and sunday morning activities there

Stone Tavern Farm checked all of the boxes. The barn itself is beautiful, and John the owner is fantastic. We partied until 3 AM, had an amazing time, and loved every moment of it. There is no more beautiful setting, and it is just such a fun place to be. All of our friends loved it. I highly recommend John and Stone Tavern Farm! 

Profile Picture User4471112,  2+ years ago, 2 Reviews






This venue exceeded my expectations on our wedding day. Visiting the venue when its empty is one thing, but WAIT, once its decorated and full of life... i was completely blown away. We got married in June 2016 and there was a pending storm that day. John was on top of it the entire time and GUARANTEED that we would be married outside!! Well, he was right, he was awesome, and extremely helpful. John Burrows is a man of his word, a bit unconventional when it comes to contracts, but have no worries... knows exactly what he's doing. It was a magical day.... our family is still talking about our wedding and best yet... WE had SO much fun. The staff was extremely sweet, kind, & helpful to our guests. Highly recommend this venue for a rustic, romantic ambience. Can't wait to visit for our anniversaries. 

Profile Picture patricia,  6/11/16, 3 Reviews


Jan 25, 2016Reviewed by Claire T
Spent the weekend here for a family wedding. We rented several cabins. The farm and wedding venue was absolutely beautiful. Perfect rustic barn wedding including fireworks. Partied all weekend. One of the cabins were not cleaned when we checked in. This was disappointing, however they corrected the situation and made it right. Would recommend this place for any family event.





I had an awesome experience at the farm when my best friend got married. We stay at the dingle cabin and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The atmosphere was unexplainable as we partied the night away till 3 in the morning

Profile Picture User7743752,  1+ year ago, 1 Review






We absolutely loved our wedding at Stone Tavern Farm. We had so much fun and our guests loved it. We are two very laid back people so it was only natural we chose Stone Tavern Farm in Roxbury, NY as our venue. We wanted a venue that had a beautiful site of outdoor ceremony, use of venue for the entire weekend in order to have Friday night and Sunday morning activities, and no curfew/cut off time. Stone Tavern Farm checked all the boxes. The rustic location provided a gorgeous backdrop for our wedding weekend. 

Profile Picture Lauren,  11/7/15, 5 Reviews




You will not find a more beautiful venue to get married at! John and his staff will work with you every request and are very flexible to last minute changes. It poured on my wedding day and last minute John and Heather made the wedding so AMAZINGLY beautiful you did not even notice the rain. It is a great place if you want to be relaxed and not stress about time and timelines. We went up for our wedding Wednesday and we got to decorate and relax till the big day so that nothing was rushed. It is a great venue if you have a big family and want everyone to hang out days before and after the wedding. 

Profile Picture Maggie,  6/27/15, 3 Reviews







We had been going Stone Tavern Farm for ATV rides and horse riding or other activites with friends for three years in a row and then we realized they do wesdings. We knew this was our spot when we were ready. And two years later, this is the place where I had wedding of my dreams! And it could not have been possible without John and his amazing team. It was a weekend affair and I never knew it would be so amazing to live those childhood days with family and friends together for an entire weekend. There was bad weather and that hardly even mattered. With beautiful mountains,the pond, the deck and the barn; we were already at a place where every single frame was just out of a movie. Our overseas friends think out photos are photoshopped because the location is just so unbelievably beautiful! 

Profile Picture Sonika,  5/24/14, 3 Reviews


Feb 11, 2014Reviewed by Ramundop
So my wife and i got married here in september 2013 so the review is a little late. But all in all this place is amazing. If you want a party wedding that everyone will remember unlike the ballroom wedding, this is the place. The views are amazing, the fall is the best time for this place. You dont get kicked out like a ballroom wedding, we partied until 3-4 am. Complete awesomeness. What i told everyone is i want a huge party for a wedding and that is what you will get at the farm. We uses the rhinecliff as a caterer and wow is all i have to say. If you want real resturaunt food instead of ballroom food then this is the place. They set up drinks for the guests at the ceromony and even keep refilling the food for the guests at dinner which is unheard of at a wedding. We used Lydia castillo for flowers and planning and she was amazing and her and john work together alot which is great since she knows the lay out of the farm. For a band we used larry siegle, his band is amazing and also a dj for the late night crazys lol which made the night. Make sure you get the fireworks it will make your wedding take the number one spot in you guests book! The only issue was that we were told the studio apartment and BnB (which he doesnt offer for guests anymore i believe) were included in the price until we got the bill. That was a bad surprise for 2500$. For that price you can rent a nice house. But i am a business owner and we split the difference because he still treated us excellent. moral of the story just make sure you ask john about the cost of those rooms because theres nothing on the wedding contract, its only on his website under lodging, which does no good because if something was included it should be on the wedding contract. Maybe john changed it but still just a small bump for an amazing expierience .







To this day we are still hearing from our friends, "Great, we will never top this wedding!" John and his staff at Stone Tavern did an amazing job all weekend. They were very friendly, professional and accommodating to any requests we had. The decorations in the barn and property are only overshadowed by the beauty of the Catskills. I would highly recommend having your wedding here!

Profile Picture Matt,  8/17/13, 1 Review







I'm still receiving comments about having the most fun/ original wedding! John and his family were wonderful! 

Profile Picture Alyse,  10/20/12, 1 Review






what a beautiful place for a fall wedding-we were very pleased 
had the rehearsal party there too and the food was great
just about all the family stayed right on the farm in rental properties that were wonderful
John and his entire family were incredibly helpful and kind

Profile Picture Maureen,  10/20/12, 1 Review



Aug 27, 2012Reviewed by brunea
By finding the Stone Tavern Farm for the wedding of my daughter, we had the experience of a lifetime. As my daughter put it, her wedding was "epic". The location of the farm couldn't be more beautiful, overlooking a valley and surrounded by mountains, with more photo ops you could ever take advantage of. John and his wife are pros at hosting any size crowd and they did it with utmost grace, sensitivity and patience. Their calming and helpful attitude couldn't be overstated and although this was a complex event (a weekend rather than a 5-hour reception only), the smile on my daughter's face from the moment she put her wedding dress on untill the party ended well after midnight, was priceless. I know we will be hearing about this wedding from family and friends for a long, long time as we will be holding it forever in our memories.





Jul 4, 2012
We absolutely loved our wedding at Stone Tavern Farm. We had so much fun and our guests loved it. It is a unique and magical place. John is very flexible and lets you customize your weekend however you want. There are no time limits and you have the farm for the weekend. They are very organized with their logistics, everything went out without a hitch. Highly recommend Stone tavern farm as a wedding venue. An awesome night!







We absolutely loved our wedding at Stone Tavern Farm. We had so much fun and our guests loved it. It is a unique and magical place. John is very flexible and lets you customize your weekend however you want. There are no time limits and you have the farm for the weekend. They are very organized with their logistics, everything went out without a hitch. Highly recommend Stone tavern farm as a wedding venue. An awesome night! 

Profile Picture Kara,  6/9/12, 5 Reviews





We loved this place. We had amazing weather for our outdoor wedding, the fireworks that night were amazing and we loved the laid back down home feel. I liked not feeling that we had to rush and there was no time limit!!!

Profile Picture Trisda,  5/19/12, 5 Reviews





Jul 24, 2011Reviewed by jwisesegatti
My husband and I got married at Stone Tavern Farm in May. It is such a magical and beautiful location and they have done a great job turning it into a space for weddings. John and his wife Danielle were great to work with and their kids were all so helpful setting things up. Everyone had a great time including us, and EVERYONE commented on what a beautiful and special place it is. Thank you!






The views, the service, and the wedding package deal cannot be beat. We had the entire use of one of the most picturesque sites in the Catskills at our disposal from Friday through Sunday afternoon. Most weddings are a standard one-hour cocktail hour and four-hour reception, which is really nice as well, but we relished having the freedom to have a relaxed wedding day. 
The bus was late bringing some guests from the hotel- and guess what? We didn't care. We weren't worried about paying for a cocktail hour we couldn't use because of delayed start times. 
The party was still going strong at the end of the night and we didn't want to stop. Guess what? We didn't. Rather than heading to a hotel to drink at a bar, we told the DJ to just keep spinning. 
The drinks were BYOB, so we saved a ton of money there, and the liquor store in nearby Margaretville will buy back unused or unopened bottles after your event. 
As for the service- we met the proprietor of this establishment- John Burrows roughly a year and a half before our wedding and booked it a year and three months in advance. While John is a busy guy working a ranch, horse camp and wedding venue- he never left us hanging. He answered all of our questions promptly, provided fantastic suggestions on pacing an staging the wedding. He also provided us with solutions to accommodation issues (the hotel nearby had been booked for another wedding), found us an awesome band leader (we went with band for the wedding, cocktail hour and first part of reception before switching to a DJ), and was thoroughly prepared for every hiccup that large events like this inevitably hit. 
We could really feel that he -and kids... and dog- were all invested in making this wedding memorable for us. I couldn't have been happier with the venue and the people who run it. On top of all of that, we had a wedding on a hill in the mountains, a cocktail reception on a pavilion overlooking a pond, and a reception in a fantastic barn with a brand new dance floor and lighting system. It was everything we could have asked for. 

Profile Picture Owen,  6/2/12, 3 Reviews




Jun 2, 2011Reviewed by NewYorkNYTraveler
My daughter had her wedding at Stone Tavern Farm in May 2011. The weekend portended to be a disaster-- it had rained buckets the entire week before and threatened to continue all weekend, and when we arrived, the barn where the reception was to be held was, well, a barn ....however, after working for two days on this do-it-yourself wedding, we transformed the barn into a lovely, magical setting. (I am sure you could get someone, a wedding planner, to do all this for you!). The ceremony was in a pavillion above the barn -- it was beautiful looking out at the catskills. The owners of the property are lovely and extremely helpful. There's a wonderful golden retriever on the property, if you'd like a dog to join the wedding party! Also, my daughter hired a fabulous caterer in Roxbury -- www.maryscookin.com -- she made the best salmon and mushroom ravioli I've ever had and I've eaten in many high-end NYC restaurants. The wedding guests couldn't stop raving about the setting and the food. I didn't stay on the property, so I can't comment on the accommodations. We stayed in town at the The Roxbury, a fun place to stay.



Dec 20, 2010Reviewed by ethanmcc
First of all, lemme say that our wedding was totally fun and doing it over an entire wknd was the best move ever. Stone Tavern Farm (STF) was awesome -- their whole family helps out. Their kids are great and very helpful -- John's 10yr old son was shuttling people around in the golf cart and his daughters served barbecue and walked us up to the hilltop on horses. We couldn't be happier with the location we chose -- we made our decision based on having been to a friend's wedding there three years ago (which was STF's first big wedding.) We had our wedding up on the hill behind the house. It was a bit of a walk up there, but totally worth it. We did not have a tent -- it would have spoiled the view. Our back-up plan in case of rain was to do the wedding in the pavilion/gazebo thingy. We had about 130 guests. We held the reception in the barn, it was amazing and John was soooo cool about arranging the hay bales in a cool and dramatic way. We also had an excellent photographer that I would recommend -- in fact, she is now doing a colleague at work's wedding too. Her name is Diane...you can see some of the photos she took here: http://www.hudsonriverphotographer.com/wordpress/?p=2146 She also includes and 'engagement' shoot so that you are totally comfortable with her. I highly recommend going with Mary's Cookin' Again as your caterer -- the food was AMAZING. The thing to bear in mind with Mary though is that she doesn't want to do a lot of prep calls and meeting and written coordination. We were a little freaked out about how loosey goosey it was (no real contract...only $100 deposit!) But then it all came together and people are STILL talking about the food. Her staff of waiters and servers and bartenders were excellent too. We had John cook a barbecue and do bonfires and tiki torches the night before -- totally awesome. It was great and I recommend doing that too. He makes amazing pulled pork sandwiches. Oh, and I recommend booking the whole Roxbury Hotel in advance and getting one of your bridal party or groomsmen to collect checks etc. We put the whole hotel on my credit card and then just collected form everybody. Believe it or not there was another big wedding in town that wknd....so glad we did that. Much of our wedding party stayed on the farm. We rented out John's "chalet" for some of our more party-oriented friends and they hosted a kick-butt after-party there. Our DJ was amazing too -- www.jtdproductions.com. He really had a great sense for how to get the mood flowing and they have this whole system where you can pick must-play and do-not-play songs in advance. No chicken dance!!! :-) We rented port-o-lets and I think they were more like $400? We rented them from Sav-On. John and family at the barn are so awesome, I can't say enough good things about them. They are organized, flexible and they have an incredible sense of integrity. I made an error reviewing the bill (hey, I was hung over!) and they immediately sent me a check with the difference. They are just so on the ball. They just kept on finding new ways to be helpful and delightful. You really get a sense that they love what they do. When we got back to our room there was a very sweet note and bottle of champagne with two glasses. Very classy! My wife says that she wants to spend every anniversary now on the farm and that she feels like the STF family is our family. Cheesy, I know, but not unwarranted in the least!






Oct 8, 2010Reviewed by gvsc81
My husband and I held our wedding at STF in September, and we couldn't have been more pleased. John and Danielle are exceptional hosts, and everyone had a great time. The farm itself is beautiful and John and Danielle work hard to keep it looking perfectly idyllic with white picket fences, a charming stone farm house and horses grazing in the pastures. John cooked a barbecue for ninety of our guests Friday night, and everyone raved about the food. Our friends camped at the campsite and hung out by the fire all night. And the older folks were able to find more upscale accommodations in the many local bed and breakfasts. If you want a farm wedding that people will talk about for months, this is the place.




Jul 23, 2009Reviewed by MCKOZ
On Friday we had 80 people for a barbecue with fresh pulled pork from their pigs which was delicious as well as great salads and other delicious foods. It was pouring rain, but no one seemed to be bothered as the gazebo was covered and everyone had a great time. Saturday was a beautiful day and the ceremony site was prepared high up on a hilltop. John the owner drove people up to the site which took close to an hour as there were close to 130 people. The view from the hilltop was breathtaking, and my daughter arrived on horseback. After the ceremony the couple left by horseback and the cocktail hour began in the gazebo, followed by the reception in a tent. Mary"s catered the food and it was fabulous. They even cooked the trout my husband caught on the farm. It ended with a fireworks show put on by john the owner. Everyone said it was the most amazing wedding they have ever attended. We stayed at the Scudder hill B&B which was wonderful, the in laws rented johns new house down the road which was beautiful with spectacular views, and the grooms family stayed at the B&B at the farm.
Website Builder